Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Members

April 7, 2012

(Agenda B)


MINUTES of the Annual Meeting of the Members of District 2 of the American Contract Bridge League held at the Doubetree Tree by Hilton, 655 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario on Saturday, April 7, 2012  at 9:15 a.m.




REPRESENTING Ontario Unit 166:  Carol Bongard, David Halasi, Lane Byl


REPRESENTING Manitoba Unit 181:  Shirley Galler, Doug Fisher


REPRESENTING Sault International Unit 212:  David Chiasson, Gunnar Kristiansen


REPRESENTING Northwestern Ontario Unit 228:  Larry Hansen, Francis Gaudino


REPRESENTING Northeastern Unit 238:  Shirley O’Neil, Brian Thomas


REPRESENTING Trent Valley Unit 246:  Nicholas Wong, Linda Lord


REPRESENTING Southwestern Ontario Unit 249:  Tom Ramsay, George Hodgson


being a quorum of the Members of the Corporation. 


Also present:   Paul Janicki, ACBL Director for District 2

                          Graham Warren, District 2 Tournament Coordinator

                          Gary Westfall, Auditor                       

  Flo Belford, Secretary



The President, Nicholas Wong, took the Chair and Flo Belford acted as Secretary of the meeting.


A quorum of Members of the Corporation being represented by Proxy and all of the Members, all of the Directors and the Corporation’s auditor having waived notice of meeting, the Chair declared the meeting regularly constituted. 



1.  Minutes of Last Meeting


Moved by David Halasi, seconded by David Chiasson,


That the minutes of Annual Meeting of the Members held on April 23, 2011 be accepted.




2.  Financial Statements


The financial statements as at December 31, 2011  were presented.  Gary Westfall, Auditor was available to answer questions. 


Moved by Tom Ramsay, seconded by Linda Lord,

That the statement of financial position of the Corporation as of 31 December 2011 and the statement of income and expenses and net assets for the year ended on the said date be and the same are hereby approved and adopted.




3.  Election of Directors


Nicholas Wong, Chair declared the meeting open for nominations.


Moved  by Tom Ramsay, seconded by George Hodgson,

That the following members be nominated as directors for the ensuing year:


Carol Bongard 166               David Halasi 166                   Sharon Berghaus 166

Lane Byl 166                          Douglas Fisher 181               Shirley Galler 181

Greg Carey 198                     Jane Smith 198                      David Chiasson  212

Gunnar Kristiansen 212       Larry Hansen 228                  Francis Gaudino 228

Brian Thomas 238                 Shirley O’Neil 238                 Nicholas Wong 246

Linda Lord 246                      Greg Coles 246                     George Hodgson 249

Jedd Drew 249                      Tom Ramsay 249


There being no further or other nominations, the Chair declared the nominations closed.  No member having demanded a ballot, the Chair, with the approval of the meeting declared those nominated to be elected by acclamation as directors of the Corporation, to hold office until the next annual election of directors and until their successors are elected or appointed, subject to the provisions of the Corporation’s by-laws. 



4.  Appointment of Auditor


Moved by Shirley Galler, seconded by Tom Ramsay,

That G. J. Westfall, C.A. be and he Is hereby appointed auditor of the Corporation to perform a Review Engagement and to hold office until the next annual meeting of Members at such remuneration as may be fixed by the directors and the directors be and they are hereby authorized to fix such remuneration.




5.  President’s Report


Nicholas Wong spoke about three issues in his report.






6.  Confirmation of Proceedings


Moved by David Halasi, seconded by Gary Westfall,

That all by-laws, resolutions, contracts, acts, and proceedings of the Board of Directors of the Corporation enacted, passed, made, done, or taken since the last annual meeting of members as set forth or referred to in the minutes of the meetings of the board of directors (which have been produced to this meeting for inspection) or in the financial statements of the Corporation submitted to this meeting, be and the same as hereby approved, ratified, and confirmed.




There being no further business the meeting was terminated.



_______________________________                      ________________________

Chairperson                                                                Secretary of Meeting